A Fold Apart Explores the Emotions of a Long-Distance Relationship in a Folding Paper World, Out Tomorrow on PS4

PlayStation

PlayStation
Long-distance relationships are tough!

Living apart from someone you love is never easy, whether it’s because of career choices, school, or family (or a global pandemic locking everyone in their homes). Communication is harder and emotions get amplified.

Before starting Lightning Rod Games, I experienced these emotional ups and downs myself as I was living an entire continent away from my significant other for over a year. That was a difficult time and had a big impact on how I’ve grown as a person and a partner. Naturally, as a game designer, I thought it would be interesting to explore those emotions in a game. I didn’t just want to make a game about the story of a long-distance relationship though — I wanted to pair it with gameplay mechanics that helped reinforce the feeling of being apart.

A few years ago, my co-founder, Steven, and I were brainstorming new gameplay mechanics. One of Steven’s suggestions was the idea of folding paper — like origami or the back of a MAD magazine. I thought it was pretty unique, but didn’t initially see how it could make for compelling gameplay. A few months later, I had a “Eureka!” moment (that mostly took place as a fervent game pitch to Steven via webcam using crumpled graph paper and poorly drawn stick people).