Top 10 things to do with your new Chromebook

Android Central

Android Central
Android Central
From settings and Smart Lock to apps and extensions, make this Chromebook home!

Please, Log in or Register to view URLs content!

A Chromebook is amazingly quick to set up, but there's a difference between setting a laptop up and really settling in with it. I've been working full-time from a Chromebook for three years and after leapfrogging from review unit to review unit last year, I think I've gotten it down to a science. If your new Chromebook feels new and awkward and not as fun as you were expecting, let me help you make this your new computing home.

Adjust your scroll and function keys

This first tweak is going to sound a little weird, but bear with me for a minute. See, when you're using a touchscreen and a touchpad on a Chromebook, it can be helpful for scrolling to work the same on both devices. Unfortunately, the default way of scrolling on laptops is inverted from using your finger to scroll on the trackpad.

We can solve this on Chromebooks by swapping the trackpad's scroll style from Traditional — swipe up to move down — to Australian — swipe down to move down. I like Australian scrolling because it matches the touchscreen on my Chromebooks and scrolling on my phone. Not everyone will like it, but it's something I encourage trying out at least once.

How to invert your scroll direction

1. Open Settings.

2. Scroll down to the Device section and tap Mouse and Touchpad.

3. Under scrolling, tap Australian.

While you're here, you can also adjust the trackpad speed if you want, but the average setting works pretty well for most folks.

Another tweak I recommend making first thing involves the way the Chrome OS keyboard is laid out. The caps lock key is a Launcher key by default, but if you're willing to forgo some of the advanced keyboard shortcuts, you can set this key back to caps lock and YELL ALL THE THINGS!!!!!!

How to get back a Caps Lock key